AGENDA ITEM 11

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF COMMITTEES FOR 2011/2012

NORTH HERTFORDSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

CONSTITUTION OF COMMITTEES, SUB-COMMITTEES AND WORKING GROUPS 2011/2012

Set out below are the proposed Members of the Committees, Sub-Committees and Working Groups for the Civic Year **2011/2012**:

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(16 Members)

Councillor Mrs A.G. Ashley

Councillor A. Bardett

Councillor David Billing

Councillor John Bishop

Councillor John Booth

Councillor Bill Davidson

Councillor Richard Harman

Councillor Cathryn Henry

Councillor Steve Jarvis

Councillor David Kearns

Councillor Paul Marment

Councillor Alan Millard

Councillor Lawrence Oliver

Councillor Michael Paterson

Councillor Mike Rice

Councillor R.L. Shakespeare-Smith

(<u>Substitutes</u>: Councillors Dave Chambers, Lisa Courts, Jean Green, Lorna Kercher, Gerald Morris, M.R.M. Muir and Elliot Needham)

FINANCE, AUDIT & RISK COMMITTEE

(7 Members)

Councillor Mrs A.G. Ashley

Councillor John Booth

Councillor Paul Clark

Councillor Bill Davidson

Councillor David Kearns

Councillor Marilyn Kirkland

Councillor David Levett

(Substitutes: Councillors David Billing, Paul Marment, D. Miller and Lawrence Oliver)

COUNCIL TAX SETTING SUB-COMMITTEE

(5 Members)

Councillor T.W. Hone
Councillor A.F. Hunter
Councillor David Kearns
Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham
Councillor Lawrence Oliver

(<u>Substitutes</u>: Councillors Tom Brindley, Marilyn Kirkland and R.A.C. Thake + 1 Labour Group vacancy)

EMPLOYMENT COMMITTEE

(5 Members)

Chairman appointed for each meeting

Councillor Judi Billing Councillor T.W. Hone Councillor Steve Jarvis Councillor Bernard Lovewell Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham

(Substitutes: - subject to the approval of an amendment to be proposed by Cllr Brindley)

Councillors David Billing, Tom Brindley, D. Miller and Lawrence Oliver)

JOINT STAFF CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE

(5 Members)

Councillor Judi Billing Councillor Tom Brindley Councillor Tricia Cowley Councillor Marilyn Kirkland Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham

(Substitutes: Councillors David Billing, Fiona Hill, T.W. Hone and Lawrence Oliver)

CABINET SUB-COMMITTEE (HITCHIN GYMNASIUM AND WORKMANS HALL TRUST)

(3 Cabinet Members)

Councillor Bernard Lovewell Councillor I.J. Knighton Councillor Mrs C.P.A. Strong

PLANNING CONTROL COMMITTEE

(15 Members)

Councillor D.J. Barnard

Councillor David Billing

Councillor John Booth

Councillor Paul Clark

Councillor Lisa Courts

Councillor Bill Davidson

Councillor Jane Gray

Councillor Gary Grindal

Councillor Fiona Hill

Councillor A.F. Hunter

Councillor Alan Millard

Councillor M.R.M. Muir

Councillor Elliot Needham

Councillor Michael Paterson

Councillor R.L. Shakespeare-Smith

(<u>Substitutes</u>: Councillors A. Bardett, Clare Body, Dave Chambers, Cathryn Henry, Lorna Kercher, David Levett and Mike Rice)

LICENSING AND APPEALS COMMITTEE

(Pool consisting of 10 to 15 Members) (Usually 14 Members appointed)

Councillor D.J. Barnard

Councillor Clare Body

Councillor P.C.W. Burt

Councillor Dave Chambers

Councillor Lisa Courts

Councillor Jean Green

Councillor Richard Harman

Councillor Lorna Kercher

Councillor Joan Kirby

Councillor Paul Marment

Councillor Alan Millard

Councillor Gerald Morris

Councillor M.R.M. Muir

Councillor Mike Rice

NORTH HERTFORDSHIRE HIGHWAYS PARTNERSHIP JOINT MEMBER PANEL

(9 NHDC Members)

Councillor A. Bardett

Councillor David Billing

Councillor John Bishop

Councillor John Booth

Councillor Tom Brindley

Councillor Paul Clark

Councillor Lisa Courts

Councillor David Kearns

Councillor Alan Millard

(Substitutes: Councillors Mrs A.G. Ashley, Bill Davidson, Robert Inwood and Joan Kirby)

BALDOCK & DISTRICT COMMITTEE

(Baldock, Arbury & Weston & Sandon Wards - Parishes of Ashwell, Bygrave, Caldecote, Clothall, Hinxworth, Newnham, Radwell, Rushden, Sandon, Wallington & Weston)

(6 Members)

Councillor S.K. Jarvis
Councillor Marilyn Kirkland
Councillor I.J. Knighton
Councillor M.R.M. Muir
Councillor M.E. Weeks
Councillor A.D. Young

HITCHIN COMMITTEE

(Hitchin and St. Ippolyts (North) Parish ward)

(13 Members)

Councillor Mrs A.G. Ashley Councillor David Billing

Councillor Judi Billing

Councillor Clare Body

Councillor Paul Clark

Councillor Lisa Courts

Councillor Joan Kirby

Councillor Bernard Lovewell

Councillor Alan Millard

Councillor Lawrence Oliver

Councillor Deepak Sangha

Councillor R.L. Shakespeare-Smith

Councillor R.A.C. Thake

LETCHWORTH COMMITTEE

(Letchworth only)

(13 Members)

Councillor John Booth

Councillor Dave Chambers

Councillor Gary Grindal

Councillor Richard Harman

Councillor T.W. Hone

Councillor David Kearns

Councillor Lorna Kercher

Councillor David Levett

Councillor Paul Marment

Councillor Michael Paterson

Councillor Mike Rice

Councillor Elliot Needham

Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham

ROYSTON & DISTRICT COMMITTEE

(Royston & Ermine Ward - Parishes of Barkway, Barley, Kelshall, Nuthampstead, Reed & Therfield)

(7 Members)

Councillor P.C.W. Burt

Councillor Bill Davidson

Councillor Jean Green

Councillor Fiona Hill

Councillor A.F. Hunter

Councillor R.E. Inwood

Councillor Gerald Morris

SOUTHERN RURAL COMMITTEE

(Parishes of Codicote, Gosmore, Graveley, Hexton, Holwell, Ickleford, Kimpton, Kings Walden, Knebworth, Langley, Lilley, Offley, Pirton, Preston, St. Ippolyts (South), St. Paul's Walden & Wymondley)

(10 Members)

Councillor Alan Bardett

Councillor D.J. Barnard

Councillor John Bishop

Councillor Tom Brindley

Councillor Tricia Cowley

Councillor Lee Downie

Councillor Jane Gray

Councillor Cathryn Henry

Councillor D. Miller

Councillor Mrs C.P.A. Strong

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

(16 Members - consisting of 4 Independent Members – including Independent Chairman and Vice-Chairman, 4 Parish Council Members and 8 District Councillors – 1 of whom must be an Executive Member)

Chairman – Mr Nicolas Moss

Vice-Chairman – Mr Peter Chapman

Independent – Mr Stewart Gillies

Independent – Mr Philip Joester

(8 District Councillors)

Councillor Mrs A.G. Ashley

Councillor Judi Billing

Councillor David Kearns

Councillor Marilyn Kirkland

Councillor Bernard Lovewell

Councillor Alan Millard

Councillor M.R.M. Muir

Councillor Lawrence Oliver

(Substitutes: Councillors A. Bardett, David Billing, Steve Jarvis and Mike Rice)

Parish Council Representatives: Parish Councillor B. Hillan, Parish Councillor R. Wornham + 2 Parish vacancies

HITCHIN TOWN CENTRE WORKING PARTY

(7 Members)

Councillor Clare Body Councillor Bernard Lovewell Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham Councillor Mrs C.P.A. Strong Councillor R.A.C. Thake

+ 2 Labour Group vacancies to be filled as and when required

PARISH CHALLENGE PANEL

(7 Members)

Councillor Mrs A.G. Ashley Councillor Paul Clark Councillor Fiona Hill Councillor Joan Kirby Councillor Marilyn Kirkland Councillor I.J. Knighton Councillor Michael Paterson

WA1(M) JOINT LOCAL AUTHORITY GROUP

(7 Members)

Councillor David Billing
Councillor John Bishop
Councillor Tom Brindley
Councillor Tricia Cowley
Councillor Lee Downie
Councillor Steve Jarvis
Councillor Mrs C.P.A. Strong

RAILWAY JOINT MEMBERS PANEL

(3 Members)

Councillor John Bishop Councillor Paul Clark Councillor Tricia Cowley

CCTV PARTNERSHIP JOINT COMMITTEE

(3 Cabinet Members)

Councillor Tricia Cowley Councillor T.W. Hone Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham

JOINT MEMBER PANEL - LETCHWORTH GARDEN CITY HERITAGE FOUNDATION

(All Members of the Letchworth Committee)