CONSTITUTION OF COMMITTEES, SUB-COMMITTEES AND WORKING GROUPS 2016/2017

Set out below are the proposed Members of the Committees, Sub-Committees and Working Groups for the Civic Year 2016/2017:

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(16 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert

Councillor Clare Billing

Councillor Bill Davidson

Councillor Steve Deakin-Davies

Councillor Elizabeth Dennis

Councillor Jean Green

Councillor Steve Hemingway

Councillor Cathryn Henry

Councillor S.K. Jarvis

Councillor Ben Lewis

Councillor Paul Marment

Councillor Gerald Morris

Councillor M.R.M. Muir

Councillor Janine Paterson

Councillor Frank Radcliffe

Councillor Valentine Shanley

(Substitutes: Councillors John Bishop, Paul Clark, Simon Harwood, Lorna Kercher, Alan Millard, Mike Rice, Adrian Smith and Michael Weeks)

FINANCE, AUDIT AND RISK COMMITTEE

(7 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert

Councillor John Bishop

Councillor Simon Harwood

Councillor Jim McNally

Councillor Deepak Sangha

Councillor Terry Tyler

Councillor Michael Weeks

(Substitutes: Councillors Mrs A.G. Ashley, Clare Billing, Nicola Harris and S.K. Jarvis)

COUNCIL TAX SETTING SUB-COMMITTEE

(5 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert

Councillor T.W. Hone

Councillor A.F. Hunter

Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham

Councillor R.A.C. Thake

(Substitutes: Councillors Mrs A.G. Ashley, Frank Radcliffe and Michael Weeks)

EMPLOYMENT COMMITTEE

(5 Members)

Chairman appointed for each meeting

Councillor Judi Billing Councillor T.W. Hone Councillor Bernard Lovewell Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham Councillor Frank Radcliffe

(Substitutes: Councillors Jane Gray, David Levett and Deepak Sangha)

JOINT STAFF CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE

(5 Members)

Councillor Mrs A.G. Ashley Councillor Judi Billing Councillor Fiona Hill Councillor Bernard Lovewell Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham

(Substitutes: Councillors Ian Albert, John Bishop and Michael Weeks)

PLANNING CONTROL COMMITTEE

(15 Members)

Councillor D.J. Barnard

Councillor John Bishop

Councillor Paul Clark

Councillor Bill Davidson

Councillor Jean Green

Councillor Fiona Hill

Councillor Lorna Kercher

Councillor Ian Mantle

Councillor Paul Marment

Councillor Alan Millard

Councillor M.R.M. Muir

Councillor Mike Rice

Councillor Adrian Smith

Councillor Harry Spencer-Smith

Councillor Michael Weeks

(Substitutes: Councillors Elizabeth Dennis, Faye S. Frost, Gary Grindal, Simon Harwood, Ben Lewis, Valentine Shanley and Terry Tyler + 1 other Conservative substitute tbc)

LICENSING AND APPEALS COMMITTEE

(Pool consisting of 10 to 15 Members) (Usually 14 Members appointed)

Councillor Ian Albert

Councillor D.J. Barnard

Councillor Elizabeth Dennis

Councillor Faye S. Frost

Councillor Jean Green

Councillor Gary Grindal

Councillor Simon Harwood

Councillor Lorna Kercher

Councillor Ben Lewis Councillor Jim McNally Councillor Alan Millard Councillor Gerald Morris Councillor M.R.M. Muir Councillor Mike Rice

CABINET SUB-COMMITTEE (COUNCIL CHARITIES)

(3 Cabinet Members)

Councillor P.C.W. Burt (Waste Management, Recycling & Environment Portfolio Holder) Councillor Julian Cunningham (Policy, Transport & Green Issues Portfolio Holder) Councillor Bernard Lovewell (Housing & Environmental Health Portfolio Holder)

BALDOCK & DISTRICT COMMITTEE

(Baldock, Arbury & Weston & Sandon Wards - Parishes of Ashwell, Bygrave, Caldecote, Clothall, Hinxworth, Newnham, Radwell, Rushden, Sandon, Wallington & Weston)

(6 Members)

Councillor John Harris Councillor S.K. Jarvis Councillor M.R.M. Muir Councillor Janine Paterson Councillor Valentine Shanley Councillor Michael Weeks

HITCHIN COMMITTEE

(Hitchin and St. Ippolyts (North) Parish ward)

(13 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert
Councillor Mrs A.G. Ashley
Councillor Judi Billing
Councillor Paul Clark
Councillor Elizabeth Dennis
Councillor Nicola Harris
Councillor Simon Harwood
Councillor Bernard Lovewell
Councillor Alan Millard
Councillor Frank Radcliffe
Councillor Adrian Smith
Councillor R.A.C. Thake
Councillor Simon Watson

LETCHWORTH COMMITTEE

(Letchworth only)

(13 Members)

Councillor Clare Billing Councillor John Booth Councillor Julian Cunningham Councillor Gary Grindal Councillor T.W. Hone Councillor Lorna Kercher Councillor David Levett
Councillor Sandra Lunn
Councillor Ian Mantle
Councillor Paul Marment
Councillor Mike Rice
Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham
Councillor Deepak Sangha

ROYSTON & DISTRICT COMMITTEE

(Royston & Ermine Ward - Parishes of Barkway, Barley, Kelshall, Nuthampstead, Reed & Therfield)

(7 Members)

Councillor P.C.W. Burt Councillor Bill Davidson Councillor Jean Green Councillor Fiona Hill Councillor Tony Hunter Councillor Ben Lewis Councillor Gerald Morris

SOUTHERN RURAL COMMITTEE

(Parishes of Codicote, Gosmore, Graveley, Great Ashby, Hexton, Holwell, Ickleford, Kimpton, Kings Walden, Knebworth, Langley, Lilley, Offley, Pirton, Preston, St. Ippolyts (South), St. Paul's Walden & Wymondley)

(10 Members)

Councillor D.J. Barnard
Councillor John Bishop
Councillor Steve Deakin-Davies
Councillor Faye S. Frost
Councillor Jane Gray
Councillor Steve Hemingway
Councillor Cathryn Henry
Councillor Sal Jarvis
Councillor Harry Spencer-Smith
Councillor Mrs C.P.A. Strong

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

(8 District Council Members - 1 of whom must be an Executive Member; Independent Person and Reserve Independent Person (advisory roles); 2 Parish Council Members - non-voting co-optees)

(8 District Councillors)

Councillor Judi Billing
Councillor Steve Hemingway
Councillor Bernard Lovewell
Councillor Alan Millard
Councillor M.R.M. Muir
Councillor Frank Radcliffe
Councillor Mike Rice
Councillor Terry Tyler

(Substitutes:

Councillor Clare Billing

Councillor S.K. Jarvis Councillor Ben Lewis Councillor Harry Spencer-Smith)

Independent Person: Mr Nicholas Moss (advisory)

Reserve Independent Person: Mr Peter Chapman (advisory)

Parish Councillors Helena Gregory and Robert Logan - non-voting co-optees

HITCHIN TOWN CENTRE WORKING PARTY

(7 Members)

Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham (Chairman)
Councillor Ian Albert
Councillor Judi Billing
Councillor Paul Clark
3 other Conservative Group vacancies

PARISH CHALLENGE PANEL

(7 Members)

Councillor Mrs A.G. Ashley Councillor Paul Clark Councillor Bill Davidson Councillor Elizabeth Dennis Councillor Gary Grindal Councillor Fiona Hill Councillor Alan Millard

RAILWAY JOINT MEMBERS PANEL

(3 Members)

Councillor John Bishop Councillor Elizabeth Dennis Councillor Alan Millard

CCTV PARTNERSHIP JOINT COMMITTEE

(3 Cabinet Members)

Councillor T.W. Hone Councillor Tony Hunter Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham

JOINT MEMBER PANEL - LETCHWORTH GARDEN CITY HERITAGE FOUNDATION

(All Members of the Letchworth Committee)