#### APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF COMMITTEES FOR 2016/2017

### NORTH HERTFORDSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

#### CONSTITUTION OF COMMITTEES, SUB-COMMITTEES AND WORKING GROUPS 2016/2017

Set out below are the proposed Members of the Committees, Sub-Committees and Working Groups for the Civic Year **2016/2017**:

# **OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE**

(16 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert

Councillor Clare Billing

Councillor Bill Davidson

Councillor Steve Deakin-Davies

Councillor Elizabeth Dennis

Councillor Jean Green

Councillor Steve Hemingway

Councillor Cathryn Henry

Councillor S.K. Jarvis

Councillor Ben Lewis

Councillor Paul Marment

Councillor Gerald Morris

Councillor M.R.M. Muir

Councillor Janine Paterson

Councillor Frank Radcliffe

Councillor Valentine Shanley

#### (Substitutes:

Councillor John Bishop

Councillor Paul Clark

Councillor Simon Harwood

Councillor Lorna Kercher

Councillor Alan Millard

Councillor Mike Rice

Councillor Adrian Smith

Councillor Michael Weeks)

### FINANCE, AUDIT & RISK COMMITTEE

(7 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert

Councillor John Bishop

Councillor Simon Harwood

Councillor Jim McNally

Councillor Deepak Sangha

Councillor Terry Tyler

Councillor Michael Weeks

### (Substitutes:

Councillor Mrs A.G. Ashley Councillor Clare Billing Councillor Nicola Harris Councillor S.K. Jarvis)

# **COUNCIL TAX SETTING COMMITTEE**

(5 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert Councillor T.W. Hone Councillor A.F. Hunter Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham Councillor R.A.C. Thake

# (Substitutes:

Councillor Mrs A.G. Ashley Councillor Frank Radcliffe Councillor Michael Weeks)

### **EMPLOYMENT COMMITTEE**

(5 Members)
Chairman appointed for each meeting

Councillor Judi Billing Councillor T.W. Hone Councillor Bernard Lovewell Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham Councillor Frank Radcliffe

# (Substitutes:

Councillor Jane Gray Councillor David Levett Councillor Deepak Sangha)

### JOINT STAFF CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE

(5 Members)

Councillor Mrs A.G. Ashley Councillor Judi Billing Councillor Fiona Hill Councillor Bernard Lovewell Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham

# (Substitutes:

Councillor Ian Albert Councillor John Bishop Councillor Michael Weeks)

# **CABINET SUB-COMMITTEE (COUNCIL CHARITIES)**

(3 Cabinet Members)

Councillor P.C.W. Burt Councillor Julian Cunningham Councillor Bernard Lovewell

# PLANNING CONTROL COMMITTEE

(15 Members)

Councillor D.J. Barnard

Councillor John Bishop

Councillor Paul Clark

Councillor Bill Davidson

Councillor Jean Green

Councillor Fiona Hill

Councillor Lorna Kercher

Councillor Ian Mantle

Councillor Paul Marment

Councillor Alan Millard

Councillor M.R.M. Muir

Councillor Mike Rice

Councillor Adrian Smith

Councillor Harry Spencer-Smith

Councillor Michael Weeks

### (Substitutes:

Councillor Elizabeth Dennis

Councillor Faye S. Frost

Councillor Gary Grindal

Councillor Simon Harwood

Councillor Ben Lewis

Councillor Valentine Shanley

Councillor Terry Tyler

+ 1 other Conservative substitute tbc)

# **LICENSING AND APPEALS COMMITTEE**

(Pool consisting of 10 to 15 Members)
(Usually 14 Members appointed) - NO Substitutes

Councillor Ian Albert

Councillor D.J. Barnard

Councillor Elizabeth Dennis

Councillor Faye S. Frost

Councillor Jean Green

Councillor Gary Grindal

Councillor Simon Harwood

Councillor Lorna Kercher

Councillor Ben Lewis

Councillor Jim McNally

Councillor Alan Millard

Councillor Gerald Morris

Councillor M.R.M. Muir

Councillor Mike Rice

### **BALDOCK & DISTRICT COMMITTEE**

(Baldock, Arbury & Weston & Sandon Wards - Parishes of Ashwell, Bygrave, Caldecote, Clothall, Hinxworth, Newnham, Radwell, Rushden, Sandon, Wallington & Weston)

(6 Members)

Councillor S.K. Jarvis
Councillor Jim McNally
Councillor M.R.M. Muir
Councillor Janine Paterson
Councillor Valentine Shanley
Councillor Michael Weeks

# **HITCHIN COMMITTEE**

(Hitchin and St. Ippolyts (North) Parish ward)

(13 Members)

Councillor Ian Albert
Councillor Mrs A.G. Ashley
Councillor Judi Billing
Councillor Paul Clark
Councillor Elizabeth Dennis
Councillor Nicola Harris
Councillor Simon Harwood
Councillor Bernard Lovewell
Councillor Alan Millard
Councillor Frank Radcliffe
Councillor Adrian Smith
Councillor R.A.C. Thake

### **LETCHWORTH COMMITTEE**

Councillor Simon Watson

(Letchworth only)

(13 Members)

Councillor Clare Billing Councillor John Booth

Councillor Julian Cunningham

Councillor Gary Grindal

Councillor T.W. Hone

Councillor Lorna Kercher

Councillor David Levett

Councillor Sandra Lunn

Councillor Ian Mantle

Councillor Paul Marment

Councillor Mike Rice

Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham

Councillor Deepak Sangha

### **ROYSTON & DISTRICT COMMITTEE**

(Royston & Ermine Ward - Parishes of Barkway, Barley, Kelshall, Nuthampstead, Reed & Therfield)

(7 Members)

Councillor P.C.W. Burt Councillor Bill Davidson Councillor Jean Green Councillor Fiona Hill Councillor A.F. Hunter Councillor Ben Lewis

Councillor Gerald Morris

# **SOUTHERN RURAL COMMITTEE**

(Parishes of Codicote, Gosmore, Graveley, Great Ashby, Hexton, Holwell, Ickleford, Kimpton, Kings Walden, Knebworth, Langley, Lilley, Offley, Pirton, Preston, St. Ippolyts (South), St. Paul's Walden & Wymondley)

(10 Members)

Councillor D.J. Barnard
Councillor John Bishop
Councillor Steve Deakin-Davies
Councillor Faye S. Frost
Councillor Jane Gray
Councillor Steve Hemingway
Councillor Cathryn Henry
Councillor Harry Spencer-Smith
Councillor Mrs C.P.A. Strong
Councillor Terry Tyler

### STANDARDS COMMITTEE

(8 District Council Members - 1 of whom must be an Executive Member; Independent Person and Reserve Independent Person (advisory roles); 2 Parish Council Members – non-voting co-optees)

#### (8 District Councillors)

Councillor Judi Billing
Councillor Steve Hemingway
Councillor Bernard Lovewell
Councillor Alan Millard
Councillor M.R.M. Muir
Councillor Frank Radcliffe
Councillor Mike Rice
Councillor Terry Tyler

#### (Substitutes:

Councillor Clare Billing Councillor S.K. Jarvis Councillor Ben Lewis Councillor Harry Spencer-Smith

Independent Person: Mr Nicholas Moss (advisory)

Reserve Independent Person: Mr Peter Chapman (advisory)

Parish Councillors Helena Gregory and Robert Logan - non-voting co-optees)

# HITCHIN TOWN CENTRE WORKING PARTY

(7 Members)

Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham (Chairman)
3 other Conservative Group nominations to be advised
Councillor Ian Albert
Councillor Judi Billing
Councillor Paul Clark

### **PARISH CHALLENGE PANEL**

(7 Members)

Councillor Mrs A.G. Ashley Councillor Paul Clark Councillor Bill Davidson Councillor Elizabeth Dennis Councillor Gary Grindal Councillor Fiona Hill Councillor Alan Millard

# **RAILWAY JOINT MEMBERS PANEL**

(3 Members)

Councillor John Bishop Councillor Elizabeth Dennis Councillor Alan Millard

### **CCTV PARTNERSHIP JOINT COMMITTEE**

Councillor T.W. Hone Councillor A.F. Hunter Councillor Mrs L.A. Needham

# JOINT MEMBER PANEL - LETCHWORTH GARDEN CITY HERITAGE FOUNDATION

(All Members of the Letchworth Committee)